Some Nights

I’m sure most of you have heard the song “We Are Young” by FUN (played over and over again on the radio), but has anyone heard their song, “Some Nights”?  I probably couldn’t tell you any of the lyrics, but the rhythm and tune keeps playing over and over again in my head.  Seriously speaking, it’s rarely the lyrics that draw people into a song when they first hear it.  People claim they are drawn to songs because of the lyrics, “No dude, those lyrics… they’re awesome… the lyrics are what keep me ALIVE… I live, eat, breath…” that’s a load of schnuffleflogger (for lack of a better word).  I’m not saying that lyrics don’t retain interest, but they are not normally the first thing a person notices.  Anyway, “Some Nights” is the type of song that makes you want to jump up and dance… in a field… with lions and meerkats (specifically Timon and Pumbaa).  It sounds like a song you would hear in the Lion King, except modernized.  If you haven’t already, I suggest you listen to it.

Speaking of the Lion King, I thought I’d share my Lion King inspired painting.  It’s not for anything in particular.  If you’re a painter, it’s quite easy.  If you’re not, well, you can probably do it too.  The most difficult part was avoiding painting the wrong stripes in the zebra section.  It’s hard to tell from the photo, but the crooked verticle and horizontal lines are deep red.  This is definitely my favorite painting (of mine).

Hopefully I’ve inspired you to start painting, or at least motivated you enough to go to YouTube and listen to the song… maybe you’ll even want to come dance in a wild animal congested field with me.

Leave a comment